Profession of Periodontics in Texas"

TSBDE Update – Anesthesia Proposals 

Much has transpired since our meeting last January 2016 where the TSP Board and membership were made aware of possible changes to anesthesia rules and regulations, including the possibility of office inspections. At that meeting, the TSP formed its own Anesthesia Committee, chaired by Dr. Charles Rader, to help the TSP Board respond to TSBDE and Sunset Commission proposals. From the beginning, the TSP has advocated for a transparent, multilateral, evidence-based approach to any new proposals concerning in-office anesthesia. In the wake of the Sunset Commission Report on the TSBDE, the TSBDE created the Anesthesia Workgroup (AWG) to investigate new proposals to help make in-office anesthesia safer for patients. A key proposal presented by the TSBDE to the AWG was in-office facility inspections. Significant issues surrounding such a proposal were raised including: who would be performing the inspections; how much would inspections cost practitioners and the state; and most importantly, does the scientific evidence show that office inspections indeed creates a safer environment for patients by reducing morbidity/mortality rates. Dr. Rader has served as TSP representative on the AWG, attending numerous meetings in Austin where he provided critical background information and testimony to advocate for an evidence-based approach to the office inspection proposals. 

Given the time-sensitive and critical nature of the anesthesia deliberations in the wake of the Sunset Commission Report and TSBDE proposals, for the first time in its history, the TSP has hired an experienced lobbyist, Austin attorney Jaime Capelo. Mr. Capelo has proven instrumental in helping our Society forge the necessary coalitions with fellow specialists and legislators and has aided TSP Board members and Dr, Rader in preparation for meetings with legislators, providing testimony at stakeholder meetings, and preparing formal communications to the TSBDE.

Thanks to the efforts of the TSP Board and especially TSP President Dr. Todd Scheyer, the TSP secured representation for its members on the TSBDE’s recently convened Blue Ribbon Panel on Dental Sedation/Anesthesia Safety. The Sunset Commission ordered the creation of the Blue Ribbon Panel to review cases of complications and fatalities during in-office anesthesia following successful TSP lobbying of Sunset Commission members and working closely with other like-minded specialty groups, including Texas AGD and Texas Dental Anesthesiologists. 

With the Legislature in session in 2017, Texas Periodontists can expect many more stakeholder meetings, lobbying efforts and proposals in the coming weeks and months. Much work remains to be done.

TSP News

(From L to R) TSP Past-President Dr. Ed Lorenzana, TSP Immediate Past-President Dr. E. Todd Scheyer, and new TSP President Dr.  Scott Dowell.

- Mission Statement

Member Recruitment Drive – Strength in Numbers!

With legislative activity affecting Texas Periodontists hitting high gear this year, the TSP needs each and every Texas Periodontist as a member to contribute to the collective efforts necessary to represent our practices and our patients. In the coming days, TSP membership renewal and membership recruitment letters will be going out to all Texas Periodontists. Only 100 or so out of 250+ periodontists in Texas are members of the TSP. Each and every one of us is needed to help represent us against other groups with much larger bankrolls. TSP Board members have to date spent collectively over 15 working days out of their practices on your behalf. All we are asking for is your support and your membership to continue to fight for you.

If you are already a TSP member, reach out to non-members in your community and educate them as to all that is transpiring right now that could significantly impact and alter their practices. 

Click here to renew or sign up as a member of the Texas Society of Periodontists. We need YOU.

The TSP Seeks Contributions to Help #FinishTheFight 

The TSP continues to work tirelessly to protect our patients and our scope of practice by working with the TSBDE and with our Texas Legislators. But this effort requires funds to help with travel costs by the TSP Board and for our lobbyist in Austin, who has proved instrumental in developing the relationships and coalitions that have resulted in a prominent  place at the table in all aspects of this effort.  To that end, the TSP is seeking support from our members in the form of contributions to the TSP over and above regular dues. Contributions may be made at the following levels: 

  • TSP Partners           ($100-$499)
  • Ambassadors Circle   ($500-$999)
  • President's Circle      ($1000+)

All members contributing to the TSP will receive special recognition on the TSP web site. Ambassadors Circle and President's Circle contributors will also receive a certificate  and special recognition at our next TSP meeting. Thank you for standing up for our patients and our practices. Contributions are being accepted now through our Membership page to help #FinishTheFight as the Legislative year begins. 

"To Advance and Protect the

Dr. Scott Dowell Assumes TSP Presidency

At the last Texas Society of Periosdontists Meeting held January 28, 2017, Dr. Scott Dowell was installed as President of the TSP.  Dr. Dowell is a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology and is in private practice in Abilene, TX. Dr. Dowell has been involved in organized dentistry and the TSP specifically for many years.  Dr. Dowell succeeds Dr. E. Todd Scheyer, to whom the entire TSP membership owes a tremendous debt of gratitude for his leadership and selfless commitment to representing our specialty in Austin during what has turned out to be a tumultuous year for Dentistry in Texas. Dr. Dowell has been an active supporter of the initiatives started under Dr. Scheyer's tenure and has worked closely with him to ensure a smooth transition.  The TSP continues to be in good hands with Dr. Dowell's leadership over the next two years.